Just another WordPress.com site

I Don’t Remember

I was hearing a couple talk about the early years of their marriage this morning and how they both had secret sins they kept from one another. It wasn’t until they risked everything and confessed to each other that there was healing and forgiveness. This story reminded me about another story that still impacts me today. My aunt Saundra died a few years ago at a relatively young age and went to be with her Lord in heaven. It was a bittersweet funeral because of how much she would be missed and yet a celebration of both her life here and her life in heaven.

My Aunt Jenny, whom I love dearly, told us about a dream she had. Now forgive me if my details are less than perfect because it was a few years ago and I only heard it once. She said that in her dream she was sitting and crying. Then Jesus came to her and said “Why are you crying?” My aunt then replied “For all the ways in which I have disappointed You and for all the wrong that I have done.”

Then Jesus told her that He didn’t know what she was talking about. So she proceeded to recount numerous and specific events in which she failed Him. With a look of disbelief Jesus turned toward her and said “I don’t remember.”

So then she she told Him in greater detail all of her shortcomings and failings, this time pleading with Him. But again He said “I don’t remember.”

To this day I recount that story in my own mind when I start to think about all of my failures. All the ways in which I have fallen short of God’s standard for me. Because the truth of it is He doesn’t remember so why should I?

“He does not deal with us according to our sins,

nor repay us according to our iniquities.

For as high as the heavens are above the earth,

so great is his steadfast love toward those who fear him;

as far as the east is from the west,

so far does he remove our transgressions from us.”

Psalm 103:10-12 (ESV)

“There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.”

Romans 8:1 (ESV)

I hope you have a great day in the Lord.

One response

  1. trace paniagua

    thank you for the reminder, Justin. Praise God for His mercies 🙂

    March 1, 2012 at 4:34 pm

Leave a Reply

